dcs logo Digital Composition Studios

home Home »

  •   Meg Sheppard and Shawn Mativetsky in a performance of alcides lanza's 'ontem'
  •   Julie Wilson-Bokowiec performing 'The Suicided Voice' from ICMC 2009
  •   Composition Doctoral student David Adamcyk at work in our main studio

June 25th, 2013

SOCAN FOUNDATION ANNOUNCES RECIPIENTS OF 22nd ANNUAL YOUNG COMPOSERS AWARDS; Nine of the fourteen composers awarded in the 2013 edition of the SOCAN Foundation Awards for Young Composers are current or former McGill composition students.

Toronto, June 19th, 2013-The SOCAN Foundation (the Foundation) announced today the recipients of the 22nd Annual SOCAN Foundation Awards for Young Composers. This year's competition attracted 184 entries,awarding a total $29,250 in prizes. This year, for the first time ever, a female composer, Marielle Groven (BMus 2006, MMus 2009) was the sole winner of -The John Weinzweig Grand Prize-. The annual SOCAN Foundation Awards for Young Composers recognize Canadian composers under 30 years of age for specific musical works in five categories of concert music.

First prizes($3000) in the five categories were awarded to Wei-Chieh Lin -Sir Ernest MacMillan Awards- and -Pierre Mercure Awards-, Marielle Groven (BMus 2006, MMus 2009) -Serge Garant Awards-, Frédéric Le Bel -Pierre Mercure Awards-, Marie-Claire Saindon (BMus 2007) and Anna Pidgorna -Godfrey Ridout Awards- (shared) and James O'Callaghan (MMus current) -Hugh Le Caine Awards-.

Additional Award recipients include: Ashkan Behzadi (BMus 2012) (second prize) and Haralabos Stafylakis (BMus 2010) (third prize) in the -Sir Ernest MacMillan Awards-; Taylor Brook (MMus 2010) and Alec Hall (BMus 2007) (second prize/shared) and Matthew Ricketts (BMus 2009) (third prize) in the -Serge Garant Awards-; Philippe Béland (second prize) and Anna Pidgorna (third prize) in the -Pierre Mercure Awards-; Patrick Murray (second prize) and Haralabos Stafylakis (BMus 2010) (third prize) in the -Godfrey Ridout Awards-; and Stephen Spencer (BMus 2012) (second prize) and Guillaume Côte (third prize) in the -Hugh Le Caine Awards-.

The John Weinzweig Grand Prize in the 2012 SOCAN Foundation Awards for Young Composers was awarded to Berlin-based composer Marielle Groven (BMus 2006, MMus 2009). The prize, for the best overall work submitted in the competition, is valued at $3,000. Marielle was recognized for her work Animaris Currens Ventosa for large ensemble

“What made Groven’s work unique and especially attracted us,is the uniqueness of her sound, the wonderful use of instrumental techniques that makes the violin sound almost like an ondes Martenot. She is clearly very creative.”

...More "News"...

The McGill 'Digital Composition Studios' ( formerly the 'Electronic Music Studio' ) was founded in 1964. As part of the Composition Area, it plays a vital role within the Schulich School of Music at McGill University. Its mission is to promote and facilitate all activities within the School of Music that involve the creative and applied use of music technologies. As such, it is a meeting place for students, faculty members, and visiting artists and researchers in composition, performance, music technology and sound recording.

Activities within the Digital Composition Studios include teaching at the undergraduate and graduate levels, compositional projects, performance of works involving technology, creation/research activities (including CIRMMT artistic and research projects), and collaborative projects, as well as supporting events at the Schulich School of Music as required.

Prospective students should note that the Composition Area does not offer a program exclusively in electroacoustic or computer music composition. All students are expected to be proficient in instrumental composition, although extensive opportunities do exist to work with a wide range of approaches to music technology, including mixed works, interactive composition, gestural controllers, acousmatic works, multichannel audio, computer-assisted composition and more.

The DCS is one of three areas within the Schulich School of Music that explore the interaction of music and technology. The other two are the Music Technology Area and the Sound Recording Area.

The Digital Composition Studios (DCS) comprise three large composition studios and three smaller project studios.

Studio 1 - The principal composition studio (link)

Studio 2 - Classroom/Lab for MUCO 541 and MUCO 542 , Classroom for MUCO 341 and MUCO 342 (link)

Studio 3 - This is our Research/Rehearsal space (link)

Studio 4 - This is our lab for MUCO 341 and MUCO 342 (link)

Studio 5 - Our Analog Studio (in need of some renovation) where we keep our Moog Modular and other analog toys. (link)

Studio 6 - Musical Applications of Symbolic Computation (MASC) Lab (link)